Shop online

Skerries Crowned Champions – Leinster League Metro Div. 3

24 March 2020

In these unprecedented times, when there are things far more important than rugby, we are delighted to confirm this great news!

It’s a bittersweet end to our shortened domestic rugby season, but we are delighted our Jim O’Rourke sponsored J1 team are Metro League Division 3 CHAMPIONS!
This follows a review by the LBIRFU, full detail below.

Congratulations to our players & coaches for such hard work throughout the season. Our overall mens squad, that comprises our Senior 1XV, J1 2XV and Under20 teams, now have reward for what was an exceptional season on the pitch. Well done lads!

Commiserations to the other Division 3 teams. Particularly Wanderers, who we were due to play in the League Final on Sunday just gone.

We’ll add this to our Club Celebration, to be planned when much more pressing COVID-19 matters are behind us.
Stay safe everyone.

Confirmation from Leinster Branch:

“Skerries are deemed winners of Div 3 following application of Regulation 8.6 after both Tullamore & Enniscorthy conceded walkovers against Skerries. After recalculation, the Div 3 top 4 positions are as follows:

Skerries:46, less 17 29 points
Wanderers:48, less 1929
Terenure:45, less 1827
St Mary’s:46, less 2026

Skerries won 1 more game than Wanderers (10 v 9) so Skerries are now in 1st place and win Division 3.”